





2024 Winter Long Course Manitoba/Saskatchewan Open Championship Awards Saskatoon March 7– 10, 2024

Saskatchewan Provincial High Point Age Group Award Winners

Age Category	Female	Club	Age Category	Male	Club
12 & under	Gillian Kimens	ROD	13 & under	Noah Findlay	GOLD
13 & 14	Cashis Taypotat	ROD	14 & 15	Kian Wu	GOLD
15 & over	Ava Harlos	ROD	16 & over	Keiran Dyck	GOLD

Saskatchewan Provincial High Point Para Award Winners

Female Swimmer	Club	Male Swimmer	Club
Shelby Newkirk	LASER	Leo Zheng	FS

Manitoba Provincial High Point Age Group Award Winners

Age Category	Female	Club	Age Category	Male	Club
12 & under	Jaella Mendoza	MANTA	13 & under	Kalen Booth	MANTA
13 & 14	Brooke Peloquin	UMAN	14 & 15	Rimnso Nkechika	MANTA
15 & over	Mia West	MANTA	16 & over	Martin Halayko	UMAN

Overall Individual High Point Awards

Age Category	Female	Club	Age Category	Male	Club
12 & under	Gillian Kimens Jaella Mendoza	ROD MANTA	13 & under	Noah Findlay	GOLD
13 & 14	Cashis Taypotat	ROD	14 & 15	Zac Millns	CRKW
15 & over	Mia West	MANTA	16 & over	Keiran Dyck	GOLD



The Manitoba Saskatchewan Provincial Championships started in 1992 with the Short Course competition hosted in Saskatoon by the Goldfins and the Long Course competition hosted in Winnipeg.

Philip Clark and Betty Lou Dean were both instrumental in the formation of this joint provincial championship competition.

Betty Lou Dean Award Winners

Highest scoring swim on the FINA Charts by each gender

	Swimmer	Club	Event	Time	FINA Points
Female	Mia West	MANTA	100 Free	0:55.65	802
Male	Tam Doan	UMAN	50 Breast	0:29.71	666

Philip Clark Para Award Winner

Highest scoring swim on the SNC Para Charts by a Para Swimmer in each gender

Classification	Swimmer	Club	Event	Time	PARA
					Points
S6	Shelby Newkirk	LASER	100 Back	1:21.58	973
S6	Leo Zheng	FS	100 Back	1:15.48	619

Club Awards

Award	Club	# of	Total
		Swimmers	Points
Small Club - Saskatchewan	Moose Jaw Kinsmen Flying Fins	10	594
Small Club - Manitoba	Manitoba Marlins	14	677
Large Club - Saskatchewan	Saskatoon Goldfins	74	7,476.50
Large Club - Manitoba	Manta	36	3,779.50
Overall Top Small Club - MB or SK	Manitoba Marlins	14	677
Overall Top Club MB or SK	Saskatoon Goldfins	74	7,476.50
ManSask Trophy Winner	Saskatoon Goldins	/4	1,410.30

Provincial 200 Medley Relay Winners

Age	Female	Age	Male
Category		Category	
12 & under	TOBA	13 & under	SASK
13 & 14	SASK	14 & 15	SASK
15 & over	TOBA	16 & over	TOBA



The Philip Clark ManSask Awards History



The Philip Clark award was first given out at 2010 Long Course ManSask to honor Dr. Clark and to celebrate his passion and dedication to the sport of swimming in Manitoba.

The Philip Clark award is awarded to the highest scoring swim by a Para swimmer male or female based on current Swimming Canada Para Swimming Performance Points Charts.

Dr. Clark worked as an Associate Professor at the University of Manitoba. Passionate about teaching, he always spoke of his love of French, Spanish and Swimming. Philip was a longtime supporter, * friend *, volunteer and builder of competitive swimming in Manitoba and Canada.

Philip started his swim community work in the early 1980's when his children began swimming.

As they grew in swimming, he followed by serving on the swim club executive. As his passion for the sport developed, he took up officiating, becoming a Master Official and Chair of the National Officials Committee.

Philip served on the Executive of Swimming Natation Canada, chaired and served on various committees. He was a key player in the 1996 Pan Am Pool training tank expansion and timing systems upgrades. As the Sport Chair, Philip was instrumental in the success of the 1999 Pan Am Games Swimming Competition hosted in Winnipeg.



Philp's strong leadership and organizational abilities have created lasting foundations for competitive swimming that continue today. He was elected President of Swim Manitoba in 1996. Philip's incredible energies and knowledge saw him elected to serve as a Director of Swim Manitoba leading the provincial sector as President during the five years prior to his passing on 18 July 2008. Philip was Chair of Manitoba Association for the Support of Swimming Excellence which is a foundation established by Swim Manitoba to provide scholarships to competitive swimmers within Manitoba.

Dr. Philip Clark, an extraordinary man with an immense passion for teaching, learning, sharing and support of swimming in Manitoba.

Congratulations on receiving this prestigious award, in honor of a remarkable man.



The Betty Lou Dean ManSask Awards History



The Betty Lou Dean award is given out to a female and male swimmer for the outstanding swim of the meet, determined by the swim with the highest FINA points score.

Betty Lou Dean was involved with aquatics for over 60 years, as an athlete, coach, official, builder and administrator. Betty was the mother of 4 sons who also swam.

Betty was extremely successful as an athlete, both as a diver and a swimmer. As a swimmer, she achieved 253 first place finishes and established numerous provincial records. In 1948, she won a Bronze Medal at Olympic Trials, and in 1949 she held the Canadian Record for the Senior Women's 100 Back, and at the 1950 Commonwealth Games Trials she was a Silver Medalist.

She became both a coach and athlete during her senior high school years and she was a role model for the younger swimmers. She coached the Regina Y Splashers from 1947 to 1950 and at the same time was also the Head Coach of the Balfour High School Swim Team. Betty then went on to serve as Head Coach for two Regina swim teams: the YMCA Synchronettes from 1953 to 1959 and the Regina YMCA/YWCA Amateur Swim Club from 1960 to 1967. She was instrumental in the development of a competitive swim team through the YM/YWCA, which later became the Regina Optimist Dolphin Swim Club and in 1965 was named the Lions Club Sportswoman of the Year for being instrumental in the development of the club.



Betty Lou then went on to be the Head Coach of the swim team in Corner Brook Newfoundland from 1968 to 1973 and then an Assistant Coach with the Regina Optimist Dolphins in 1973 and 1974.

During this time Betty Lou also became a Swimming Official and in 1975 became a Master Official and officiated at many National Competitions including the 1975 Western Canada Games, 1976 Canada Cup, 1977 Division II Nationals and 1978 Commonwealth Games Trials.

In 1957, she was the Founding President of the Saskatchewan Amateur Synchronized Swimming Association, and in 1975 become the first Executive Director of Swim Sask; a position she held until her retirement 23 years later in 1998.

Betty Lou was inducted into the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in 1991 as Builder. In 1992, she received a Commemorative Medal for the 125th Anniversary of the Confederation of Canada, in 2002 she was awarded the Regina YWCA's Woman of Distinction Award and in 2003 received the Queen's Golden Jubilee medal; all for her contributions to the sport of swimming.

Betty Lou was an amazing and vibrant woman, who was very, very passionate about swimming and her 4 sons. She was strong willed but had a zest for life and loved to laugh. Congratulations on receiving this prestigious award, in honor of a remarkable woman that many people looked up to.